Genius and wierdness.

Posted: July 5, 2009 in Uncategorized

With the death of Michael Jackson in the news an old idea of mine popped in my head. Michael Jackson was simply the greatest pop star of our day.  His name of course was tarnished by various accusations. I’m not here to comment on the validity of those, but what we can agree on was that Jackson was a pretty weird guy. I’m sure he couldn’t help it, having all that fame and money at such a young age. (For the purposes of this blog, I won’t get into what is considered “weird” or “normal” because we all have a general idea.)

Thinking of other top talent in other fields I see the same thing. Alan Moore, Tim Burton,  H.P. Lovecraft, Prince, all considered the greats of their field, and all, for one reason or another, considered weird.

So my question is, to be considered one of the greats of an artistic field, do you have to lose your mind? This is something I’ve pondered, having artistic aspirations myself, but also having a desire to raise a family. I don’t want to go off the deep end if I’m raising a family, but do I need to go there to achieve the higher heights?

I’ve nothing scientific to back this up with. I’m just wondering aloud, so tell me, what do you think?

Leave a Reply

