Top Ten Favorite Things on Youtube #10: Live Reactions to Sting’s WWE Debut.

Posted: September 19, 2015 in Top Ten Favorite Things on Youtube
Tags: , , , ,

This past spring was ten years since Youtube officially went online. Given that I remember life without the internet, Youtube is the kind of thing that still amazes me. I remember maybe 12 or 13 years talking with a friend saying wouldn’t it be cool if there was a website where you could have something like your own tv channel. You could have stuff like episodes of the Simpsons online for people to watch, and along with that you could make your own shows/have your own content. My friend agreed it would be cool, but said people’s bandwidth would never be large enough/computers would never be fast enough etc. etc. Just a few years later it became reality. Youtube is right up there with Facebook and Google among websites that have generally impacted our day to day lives.

So I wanted to make a top ten favorite things on youtube list. I want to specify that these entries will not just be random TV clips or official music videos, they all are user generated content.

My first entry is just under a year old and involves professional wrestling. For those that don’t know, the wrestler Sting was for a long time known as the most popular wrestler that never wrestled for the WWE. Last November at Survivor Series he finally made his WWE debut. Entry #10 is basically 7 minutes of people yelling “OH MY GOD IT’S STING!!!” The actual in arena reaction is especially hilarious. So here we go.

Comments
  1. Joshua DeWayne Wright says:

    Wow! Thank you for the compliment!

    I flipped out myself, as I watched the debut occur, actually I was working literally live at that moment as plain clothes security for the Chattanooga Airport, and started jumping up and down like a crazy person!

    I immediately regained control of myself, and ran and hid to watch the rest of the PPV on the WWE Network.

    Later to better explain my ‘freaking out’ to well, ‘the rest of the world’ … I made this very video. 🙂

    I also enjoyed watching the others, I just wished I had caught my own, and also I enjoyed putting the completely copyright free footage in order chronologically, in such a way, it also showed the world ‘Stings Debut’ before WWE did!

    If I am not mistaken, they actually show and/or speak about the fan coverage of his debut, on the newest Sting Documentary on WWE Network, in which they show my video… and mention the ‘virality’ about how his debut, actually ignited the world!

    Pretty cool if I do say so myself, for a guy just trying to explain to his girlfriend ‘what the big frickin deal was’ lol

    Thanks for including my video in your list/blog/page, and also for genuinely appreciating it!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

